Razor EcoSmart Metro Review – Razors adult/teen commuting electric scooter

Deal Score0

$345.99 $399.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Razor EcoSmart Metro Electric Scooter - $345.99
Price history
×
Price history for Razor EcoSmart Metro Electric Scooter
Latest updates:
  • $345.99 - December 11, 2018
  • $329.00 - December 9, 2018
  • $345.99 - December 8, 2018
  • $349.99 - December 5, 2018
  • $369.99 - December 1, 2018
  • $380.99 - November 27, 2018
  • $393.07 - November 17, 2018
  • $399.00 - November 15, 2018
Since: June 17, 2018
  • Highest Price: $452.44 - July 12, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $329.00 - December 9, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 12, 2018 3:50 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Razor doesn’t make a lot of electric scooters catering to the needs of commuting adults, with one exception.

The Ecosmart Metro is a bike looking electric scooter with pretty decent specifics. It isn’t the coolest looking thing, but it is among the top scooters when it comes to providing a comfortable ride.

And at this price, you actually get a lot of value for your money.

Review

The assembly process was easy enough and it didn’t take me more than roughly 5 minutes to get the scooter ready for testing.

Like most Razor scooters except the newer power core models, this one is equipped with a chain driven motor of 500W. It has a variable throttle that lets you adjust speed smoothly and there is enough torque to get you going from a full stop without having to help it the first few meters.

You can ride it in a very comfortable seated position or ride it standing up and still have a lot of room for your feet. The bicycle seat is so comfortable I nearly email Razor to get one for my bicycle.

You accelerate with the twist-grip throttle and the scooter can ride at speeds of up to 18 mph. The onboard lead acid battery can take you approximately 10-14 miles depending on user weight and terrain before you have to put it to rest and recharge the battery for about 6.5 hours.

I would consider it a good electric scooter for elderly people too since it is so easy and comfortable to ride on. The only downside I can see there is that the on/off and charging port is mounted very low on the scooter and that it weighs almost 67 lbs.

Specifications:

Speed up to 18 mph

A distance between 10-14 miles per charge

Hub motor 500W

Lithium-ion 36V 21Ah

Weight 67 lbs

16″ pneumatic tires

7.6 Total Score
Great commuter!

If you're looking for a good budget scooter that can handle your daily commute of below 10 miles, look no further. The Razor Ecosmart electric scooter will take you to the office in no time and do so very comfortably. You can either stand up and zig-zag between traffic or sit down on the comfortable seat.

Features
6.5
Moneywise
7.5
Distance
7.5
Speed
8
Quality
8.5
PROS
  • Low-priced
  • Good performance
  • Very comfortable ride
  • Easy to learn
CONS
  • Heavy product weight(67lbs)
  • Long charge time(6.5h)
Add your review
$345.99 $399.99
15 new from $345.99
1 used from $329.99
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: December 12, 2018 3:50 am

Riding experience

The ride was as I said above very comfortable. This mainly due to two things: the well-padded seat which makes you feel like you’re sitting on a cloud, and the bike tires which are air-filled and large providing excellent suspension and are less bumpy when handling stones or potholes.

Speed and acceleration were very good and top speed is as accurate as it can be with me topping out at 21 mph riding it on an almost flat surface.

Since it has lead-acid batteries which are heavy they have to be centralized in order to create a nice balance in the scooter and I think Razor has done a fine job doing just that.

The rear brake works very well but I do miss a front brake for shorter braking distance if needed. It has a clean design with no clutter at all, not even a display for showing ride information.

Overall an exceptional city cruiser that handles those shorter 10 miles and below distances perfectly and as expected.

Features

  • Hand operated rear brake
  • Twist-grip throttle for smooth acceleration
  • Large bicycle tires 16” air-filled
  • Comfortable seat
  • Removable luggage rack and basket

The review test data

Distance: 11 miles

Speed: 21 mph

Avg speed: 11 mph

Battery Consumption: 100% to 10%

Surface: Flat surface, minor elevation

Last words

I have to say that I am very impressed with the Razor EcoSmart electric scooter and it does serve its purpose of being a commuter scooter for adults. Actually, I would consider it to be a great scooter for both teenagers and adults who want to ride it back and forth to school/work.

It provides a very comfortable ride and it has good acceleration and decent performance overall. It’s not as small and lightweight as the folding electric scooters, so if you are living up steps I would consider taking a look at our top recommendations of electric scooters and pick a lightweight unit instead.

Last update was on: December 12, 2018 3:50 am
Feel free to comment your inputs

Leave a reply

Your total score