Glion Dolly Review – The perfect commute electric scooter?

Deal Score0

$599.00 $849.00

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Glion Dolly Foldable Lightweight Adult Electric Scooter with Li-Ion Battery, Black - $599.00
Price history
×
Price history for Glion Dolly Foldable Lightweight Adult Electric Scooter with Li-Ion Battery, Black
Latest updates:
  • $599.00 - April 28, 2018
  • $499.00 - April 27, 2018
  • $599.00 - March 1, 2018
  • $649.00 - February 27, 2018
  • $599.00 - February 4, 2018
  • $799.00 - February 3, 2018
  • $599.00 - February 3, 2018
Since: February 3, 2018
  • Highest Price: $799.00 - February 3, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $499.00 - April 27, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: May 21, 2018 8:31 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

A first glance at the Glion Dolly electric scooter makes you understand how much effort they’ve gone through figuring out how to solve the daily commuters problem. It might not have insane speed nor distance but it sure makes up for it in usability with its simple yet useful features.

Unpacking and assembly was a simple task and we were ready to hit the streets in no-time. When it comes to riding experience the Glion Dolly is far superior many of the low budget options out there and I quickly got a grasp on which audience this electric scooter was built for. The daily commuters.

Let’s get down to cracking numbers!

Review

Whether you have just a couple of miles to work or you need to take a bus or the subway the Glion dolly solves a single problem. It is compact enough to take on the bus, it folds together quickly and it has its innovative dolly function. This makes the bus, train, and subway commute simple. Just flick the switch with one foot and it folds together nice and tight. Take out the handle and just drag it along with you, when onboard you can place it where you like and it stands by itself. The last mentioned function might not sound like much but for someone like me who occasionally take the bus into town, I know that balancing your electric scooter folded on one wheel isn’t a fun thing to do. The bus ride which I kinda enjoy otherwise becomes a fight of not bumping the scooter into any other passenger on the bus.

8.5 Total Score
Great for everyday use

The Glion Dolly is a great electric scooter for everyday users. It combines performance with usability. The daily commute on a glion dolly will be fun but it also provides you with a unique one-foot folding and dolly function to make it easier to work with in places where you might not be able to ride for various reasons.

Feautures
8.7
Moneywise
7.5
Distance
8
Speed
7
Quality
8.5
PROS
  • Easy to set up and assemble
  • Lightweight and portable
  • Dolly Function
  • Excellent commute alternative
  • Good balance between functionality and performance
  • Pedestrian bell already mounted
CONS
  • A bit slow for my taste
  • Gets bumpy on uneven terrain
  • As with most e-scooters battery indicator does only show accurate level while standing still
  • No speed indicator
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
$599.00 $849.00
1 new from $599.00
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was in: May 21, 2018 8:31 pm

Riding experience

Just riding the Glion Dolly is a blast and it really out-performs many of the other top electric scooters that we have reviewed when it comes to quality and riding experience. Reading up on common problems and speaking to a few owners gives me a good indicator that there are no major issues with the later models and that all those premature problems have already been solved if they ever existed. A brand that’s been in the business for quite some time gives you peace of mind that the electric scooter is well built and as close to maintenance free as it gets. It is comparable with the ES1 from Segway that we reviewed earlier.

When it comes to the riding capabilities there’s not much to complain about. Compared to the 6.5” wheels seen on a lot of cheap alternatives these days the 8” honeycomb flat-free tires on the Glion Dolly gives you a smooth somewhat suspension ride and it can handle even the roughest of city streets.

Cruising along with my 167 lbs on rough asphalt with quite a lot of ups and downs, starts and stops I got a good 12 miles out of the scooter on the initial fully loaded battery. It completed the loading cycle in about 3 hours and was ready for some water fun. We tested it in our self-made puddles and it seemed to handle water quite well. The tires got good grip although the surface was wet and smooth. No electrical issues occurred and I’ve also collected some information across the internet from other sources that water and Glion aren’t a big of an issue even though it might not be marketed as waterproof I think we can assume a little rain is nothing to be afraid of. However, stay away from the deeper puddles and use a blow dryer to dry it after a days ride in the rain and things should be just fine.

The review test data:

Speed: 15 mph(24 km/h)
Distance: Min 10 to Max 15 miles
Recharge time: 3.5 hours
Weight capacity: 255 lbs
Motor power: 250w(nominal) 600w(peak) 15Nm Torque
Wheel size: 8”
Tire type: Honeycomb cushion, Airless never-flat
Battery: 36V 6.6Ah Samsung Lithium-ion
Drive mode: Twist Throttle
Unit Weight: 27.3 lbs(12.38kg)
Warranty: 1 year limited
Recommended use: Travel, Commute, Neighborhood

Last words of recommendation

The Glion Dolly is the perfect choice for the daily commuter. It might not be the best fit for a kid, but as an adult scooter, it really fulfills its promises of being an easy to use simple yet effective solution for those wanting a more fun way of getting to work. Riding this e-scooter to work isn’t just for the environmental cautious people, even though it is a great side-perk. No, choosing to ride an e-ride to work or the store for just a couple of products is just more enjoyable. Glion will definitely accompany you on way more errands than you might initially think and it is a safe bet for most adults who want to join the e-ride community.

 

Feel free to comment your inputs

Leave a reply

Your total score